Skip to content

Starting Again… me and my NLP blog.

May 30, 2012

In October this happened (i) and I wanted to focus my energy on keeping the main show on the road – i.e. me and PPD Learning, my NLP Institute in London (ii).

And now it’s glorious summer I’m looking forward to writing more – about NLP, what’s going on in the field, thoughts on related books etc.. oh, and occasionally  frivolous unrelated TV and political stuff too.

In NLP I’m pretty interested in how to convey the more subtle, somatic skill-base – the delivery system for the tools and techniques. It’s a hugely under-represented and under-described dimension of the practice of NLP and what is meant by having ‘integrated’ skills and ‘NLP in the muscle’.

You really don’t read about it much in the NLP primers which are mainly techniques focussed. And yet it’s the core, refined skill-set that brings emotional and social intelligence into the actual practice of NLP and thus the generative quality of the results and changes.

Also this relates to the idea of standards and creating a shared reality about what constitutes adequate skill and adequate training and practice.

The meme of an ‘NLP Practitioner Certificate is like a Driving License’ is  actually highly flawed and misleading. One day I’ll attempt to explain why and point to the absence of agreed observable data as part of my evidence.

(And yes I am pissed off that the completer courses are framed as thus being ‘for slow learners’..  highly distorted, negative framing.)

More anon…

In terms of the NLP research base, I’m a keen reader of psychology books and articles and want to point out some of the links between what we are doing in NLP and contemporary research.

Maybe I’ll do some book reviews here too like my Changes ones (iii)  but a bit longer and chattier..

I’m a big US elections junkie – yes Obama, if I had a vote. I watch with rising horror the sheer level of outright lies and propaganda from the Romney camp. He doesn’t even appear to care about telling the truth.. it’s amazing.

The Republicans learnt a lot about frames and framing years back. As George Lakoff says ‘frames trump facts’. The Democrats still believe ‘the truth will set you free’ – not in this election it won’t.

Lastly, I’ve derived a lot of solace from beautiful walks in the countryside this year. Definitely part of  the healing process…Lovely quote from Bateson I can’t quite remember but it’s how much spirituality is a deep, felt sense of the inter-connectness of all living things and of the beauty in the natural world. I’m very grateful  and at last learning the names of wild flowers.

Currently Reading;                                                                                                            Thinking Fast and Slow/ Daniel Kahneman                                                                            23 Things They Don’t Tell You About Capitalism / Ha-Joon Chang                                Proust was a Neuro-Scientist /Jonah Lehrer                                                                 Stranger Magic /Marina Warner  – about the Arabian Nights stories                                 Secret Places of West Dorset/ Louise Hodgson

Websites;                                                                                http://maddowblog.msnbc.msn.com/ The wonderful Rachel Maddow show , news, politics ,opinions, cocktails.

TV Comedy                                                                                                                           30 Rock – Tina Fey, Alec Baldwin, New York – whats not to love?!                                  Community – I know it’s a bit hip and cool of me but I really like it.

Back soon this time…. !

(i) http://www.guardian.co.uk/tv-and-radio/2011/dec/06/loretta-loach http://www.guardian.co.uk/theguardian/2012/jan/06/loretta-loach-obituary-letter?intcmp=239

(ii) http://www.ppdlearning.co.uk   http://www.nlp.co.uk

(iii) Book reviews here – pdf http://www.ppdlearning.co.uk/resources

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I see you and I bless you

Leave a comment